Favorite Things

A Few of My Favorite Things

“Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes, Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes, Silver white winters that melt into springs, these are a few of my favorite things.”

This was the first song I learned to play on my flute when I was young (8’ish maybe). I can still remember the sound of the pads on my flute when I touched them. And how nervous I was when I played this at a recital. This is one of the few memories of my childhood that is so clear in my mind. With that being so, I thought it only appropriate to have a section here dedicated to my favorite things related to maintaining health and wellness.

We’ll get back to my journey soon enough. For this first ‘Favorite Things’ post I wanted to share a few of my favorite recipes from this past month. In this past month, I also found myself traveling (once for work and once for the family vacation) so I wanted to share my favorite snacks to travel with as well.

Favorites_March2016

Barbecue Sauce Recipe: 

One of my all time favorite paleo cookbooks is Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great. This sauce comes from the author of this book, Danielle Walker.

Check out the recipe here: http://againstallgrain.com/2015/04/22/paleo-bbq-sauce/

The reason I love this recipe is that it is made with real ingredients! I quickly found out when attempting to eliminate sugar from my diet was, that everything has sugar in it. AND it’s usually mixed with other manufactured, poisonous ingredients such as high fructose corn syrup.

You can feel good about eating this sauce!

I mixed some of this sauce into the burger meat. This made the patty super juicy! I served the burger on lettuce and topped it with sautéed mushrooms and a bit more sauce and alongside homemade sweet potato fries. YUM!

Tostada Shells:

The recipe for these shells comes from the Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great cookbook. These were super easy to make and very versatile. Here I served them with my lunch which had broccoli, pan-fried salmon, and shredded carrots. I put a tablespoon of coconut oil in the bowl and microwaved it all. I topped the tostada with sliced avocado and some of the bowl mixture!

Shells Recipe:

  • 2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
  • 1t sea salt
  • 2T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 2t chopped cilantro
  • 1t fresh lime juice
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.
  2. Place all ingredients in the bowl and mix until a dough forms.
  3. Divide the dough into 8 even balls, rolling them between your hands until smooth.
  4. Place the balls of dough on a piece of parchment paper cut to the size of a baking sheet. Place another piece of parchment paper on top, then use a rolling-pin to roll each ball out into a circle 1/8-inch thick. Remove top sheet.
  5. Carefully transfer the parchment paper to the baking sheet and back for 18 minutes, flipping halfway through.

Traveling Paleo:

It’s possible to be overwhelmed with the challenge of traveling paleo but when you are prepared, you can set your mind at ease and still feel good about what you eat!

The above picture is a good representation of what I travel with so that I have snacks for when I’m at the airport and while at my destination.

This includes:

  • Snack bars:
  • Justin’s Almond Butter packets
  • Raw Almonds
  • Carrots, Celery, Apples, Sweet Potato
  • Meat:
    • Applegate Chicken & Apple Sausage
    • Applegate Turkey Breast  Lunch Meat (I roll these up with sliced avocado inside them)
  • Kerigold Butter (for my Butta Coffees)

I purchased some of these items from King Soopers and some from Sprouts.

 

That’s it for this month.

Let me know if you try any of these and what you think. And feel free to share some of YOUR favorite things in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

